Making a Garden Trellis

WP_20150604_17_38_48_Pro

When we moved I left most of my garden trellis’ at the old house, I’m still kicking myself for that.  At the end of summer I’ll pick some up when they go on deep discount, but for now I either pay full price or get creative.  Today I got creative and made my own.  The trellis I made is definitely nothing fancy, but it does the trick, was super easy to make and didn’t cost much.

WP_20150604_17_31_26_Pro WP_20150604_17_43_32_Pro

I used these 6 foot stakes, package of 5 but I only used 4, some 1 1/2″ nails, a hammer and a hand saw.  I could have pulled out my electric saw but these are so small it just didn’t seem worth the effort.

WP_20150604_17_31_02_Pro

I did not measure anything, I simply laid three stakes on the ground and eyeballed the distance between.  Next I took the fourth stake and laid it horizontally across the three to get a measurement as to how long it needed to be.  I made a tick mark using a nail, then used the hand saw to cut it. I used the first rung as a guide for the other four.  Next I spaced them, again eyeballing it, then nailed them into place.  Where each rung sits over the center stake I used two nails to make it a little sturdier.  In total this took about 15 minutes, and that’s with the help of the twinadoes….  I think I’m going to make more of these, some larger.

Leave a Reply

