My Garden

I realized I haven’t taken any pictures for the blog this season and figured it was about time.  I do post them to my Facebook page since it’s so quick to do, yup, been a little lazy this summer.  Gardening has been a little challenging due to the 14 hens and one rooster, they dig up everything.  And if they don’t dig it up the eat it until it’s gone.  Next year I’ll have to come up with some kind of fencing around the garden to keep the ladies (and gentleman) out.

DSC_0226

It’s a good thing I like them because not only are they causing all kinds of havoc in the garden but they have taken a liking to the new neighbors, unfortunately it is not mutual.  Estimates for a fence are currently happening.  Ugghh….

DSC_0224 DSC_0228 DSC_0227

What is a tad misleading is how some of the garden looks so lush, green and healthy, but step a little closer and you see the damage… I didn’t have the heart to show those pictures, I like to live in fantasy land where my garden looks gorgeous.

DSC_0225 DSC_0232 DSC_0229

I’m still in love with the purple chicken coop, the flowers and vegetables I’m growing around it make it look so cottage like to me.  The second coop we recently acquired hasn’t been painted, yet… I’m still deciding what color to use.  The little hens (there actually might be two roosters in that mix), are warming up to using that one.  Once it’s all pretty I’ll share pictures.

DSC_0231 DSC_0230

Lastly, I have the thyme that I snipped of the big plant.  It had rooted nicely so it was like getting two free plants.  I love that about thyme.  My other herbs I’m letting go to seed so they will spread on their own, next year I’ll have them all over.  The tomatoes are doing fairly well, I’m crossing my fingers that the hens don’t get them before I do.  They love tomatoes.

How are your gardens coming along?

Leave a Reply

