The Final Day….

September has finally come to an end.  The budget, well….I went over about $150 and didn’t quite stick to the calendar of meals, but overall I think it was a success.  Of course I was hoping to not go over the one hundred dollar budget, but there was no way I was going to tell my kids “sorry, no apples and bananas for you”.  However, I did buy a lot less than I normally would have, when Thing 1 only ate half an apple I would save the other half for him to eat later.  Normally I would just toss it in the “chicken” pile.  The chickens definitely went without this month, other than their normal feed it was some slim pickings.

Strangely, I didn’t miss going to the store all the time, I realized it was just some habit I learned and it became normal.  Now, well let’s just say I don’t even want to peruse the aisles looking for stuff, I want to get in and out and be done with it.  Walking past aisles is a big component to keeping to a budget, out of sight out of mind, right?  The list was also key, that and sticking to the list.  Our garbage can was only 3/4 full on garbage days, this went down from us having to shove as much in, stomping on it to get the lid to close and sometimes even having an extra bag next to the normal can.

As for the calendar of meals, well, in theory it’s a great idea, however, the meal I plan for two weeks from now isn’t always what I want, so you have to allow for some changing of days.  Weekly meal planning would work much better for me, and in fact, the only reason I did then whole month was because I was trying to use up what we had on hand and make sure I had enough to last the whole month.  We didn’t buy any meat, none, but we were gifted some meat from two people.  Even without those generous gifts we would have made it.  I still have the meat that was going to be used on those days, and it will get used.

My pantry is not as empty as I thought it would be, in fact, it’s still really quite full.  The freezer was getting down there, and I liked it.  Then Mr. Housewife went to Costco…. he did good though, Bought mostly stuff for the twinadoes and non food items, but there were a few.

One goal was to not go out for meals at all, I failed.  I believe I went out twice and then Mr. Housewife and I went out once, so really, it wasn’t a complete fail.  Our normal month consists of going out more like three times a week rather than month.  I missed eating out, but I plan on that getting scaled back as well, it’s just not necessary.

Next month I will be purchasing foods that are on sale, I’ll ease up on the budget, but there will be no free for all grocery trips.  This is all a work in progress, Rome wasn’t built in a day…

To end the month we are having leftovers from last night, I thought that was fitting.

Leave a Reply

